• TPI Next


With TPI Next a broad analysis of a test process can be made. The model is a particularly strong tool in larger organizations with independent testing teams.

The TPI Next model
The main features of the TPI Next model are:

  • key areas (see table below)
  • maturity levels (see table below)
  • checkpoints (click on a key area)

Sixteen key areas provide the necessary coverage of relevant aspects. Within each key area, growth is expressed by means of the levels ControlledEfficient and Optimizing. Each next level builds on the previous one (from left to right). Furthermore the model consists of checkpoints. A checkpoint describes a practice that reflects something of significant value to reach a particular level.

The maturity levels are typified as follows:

  • Initial: Starting level
  • ControlledDoing the right things
  • EfficientDoing things the right way
  • Optimizing: Continuously adapting to ever-changing circumstance

(Source: “TPI Next, Business Driven Test Process Improvement” ISBN 9072194977)

Follow the hyperlinks in the matrix to the key areas for details.

Key area Controlled Efficient Optimizing
Stakeholder commitment A B B C F H H K M M
Degree of involvement A B C E H H J L L
Test strategy A A B E F F H K L
Test organization A D D E I I J J K L L
Communication B C C D F F J M M
Reporting A C C F G G K K
Test process management A A B B G H J K M
Estimating and planning B B C C G H I I K L L
Metrics C C D G H H I K K
Defect management A A B D F F H J K L L
Testware management B B D E I I J L L L
Methodology practice C D E F H J J M M
Tester professionalism D D E E G G I I K M M
Test case design A A E F I I J K K M
Test tools E E E F G G I L M M
Test environment C D D E G H J J L M M

TPI ® Next is a registered trademark of Sogeti.